The 29th Annual Detroit Music Awards 2020

Stay At Home streaming edition 19. April 2020.



Outstanding Americana Artist Group
Billy Brandt & The Sugarees 

Outstanding Americana Instrumentalist
Chris Codish – Multi

Outstanding Americana Recording
Billy Brandt & The Sugarees – “Riverside”

Outstanding Americana Songwriter 
Billy Brandt  

Outstanding Americana Vocalist  
Emily Rose


Outstanding Blues Artist / Group
Motor City Josh & The Big 3  

Outstanding Blues Instrumentalist  
Laith Al-Saadi – Guitar  

Outstanding Blues Recording
Brett Lucas – “Soul & Courage” 

Outstanding Blues Songwriter
Josh “Motor City” Ford

Outstanding Blues Vocalist  
Tosha Owens  


Outstanding Classical Composer  
Patrick Prouty  

Outstanding Classical Instrumentalist 
Bugs Beddow – Trombone

Outstanding Classical Recording  
Tosha Owens – “We’ve Got Hate On The Run”  

Outstanding Classical Small Ensemble  
Motor City Brass  

Outstanding Classical Vocalist  
Jill Fitzgerald  

Outstanding Community Orchestra  
Royal Oak Symphony Orchestra


Outstanding Country Artist/Group  
Julianne Ankley & The Rogues  

Outstanding Country Instrumentalist  
Larry Labeck – Pedal Steel

Outstanding Country Recording  
Julianne Ankley – “Why”  

Outstanding Country Songwriter  
Julianne Ankley 

Outstanding Country Vocalist  
Julianne Ankley


Outstanding Electronic/Dance Artist/Group  
Detroit Bureau of Sound  

Outstanding Electronic/Dance DJ  
DJ Linda Lexy  

Outstanding Electronic/Dance Recording  
Various Artists – “Pure Sounds Of Michigan”

Outstanding Electronic/Dance Writer/Producer  
Liz Larin  


Outstanding Anthology/Compilation/Reissue   
Dennis Coffey – “Live At Baker’s 2006”   

Outstanding Children’s/Family Music
Mr. Bob’s Rubber Band

Outstanding Live Performance   
Motor City Josh & The Big 3 

Outstanding Live Sound Technician   
Kelly Tucker   

Outstanding Local Record Label 
Detroit Music Factory

Outstanding National Major Label Recording 
Alice Cooper – “Breadcrumbs”

Outstanding National Single  
Greta Van Fleet – “Lover, Leaver”

Outstanding National Small/Independent Label Recording 
Iggy Pop – “Free”   

Outstanding Record Producer 
Chuck Alkazian 

Outstanding Recording Studio   

Outstanding Tribute Band   
Major Dudes – A Steely Dan Tribute 

Outstanding Video / Limited Budget   
Detroit Academy of Arts & Sciences Choir – “One Nation: Detroit’s Tribute To The Funk”

Outstanding Video / Major Budget   
The Raconteurs – “Help Me Stranger” 


Outstanding Gospel/Christian Artist or Group
Sweet Crystal

Outstanding Gospel Choir
David Whitfield & Whitfield Productions

Outstanding Gospel/Christian Instrumentalist
Marq Speck – Keyboards   

Outstanding Gospel/Christian Recording 
Tosha Owens – “Build A Bridge”  

Outstanding Gospel/Christian Songwriter  
Marq Speck   

Outstanding Gospel/Christian Vocalist  
David Winans II  


Outstanding Modern Jazz Artist/Group
Ralphe Armstrong

Outstanding Traditional Jazz Artist/Group
Sky Covington   

Outstanding Jazz Composer   
Scott Gwinnell  

Outstanding Jazz Instrumentalist 
Takashi Iio – Bass

Outstanding Jazz Recording 
Dennis Coffey – “Down By The River”

Outstanding Jazz Vocalist 
Thornetta Davis  


Outstanding Rap Artist or Group
Trick Trick    

Outstanding Rap Composer

Outstanding Rap MC 
Leaf Erikson

Outstanding Rap Producer
Tony “T-Money” Green       

Outstanding Rap Recording
REDD – “Drip 2 Clean”


Outstanding Rock/Pop Artist/Group
Gasoline Gypsies   

Outstanding Alt/Punk/Indie Artist/Group
The Beggars

Outstanding Heavy Rock Artist/Group
Dead In 5   

Outstanding Rock Instrumentalist 
Johnny “Bee” Badanjek – Drums

Outstanding Rock Recording
The Muggs – “Eye to Eye” 

Outstanding Rock Songwriter
Dirk Kroll  

Outstanding Rock Vocalist 
Barbara Payton


Outstanding Urban Artist/Group
Nadir Omowale    

Outstanding Urban Instrumentalist
Tony “T-Money” Green – Bass   

Outstanding Urban Recording
Detroit Academy of Arts & Sciences Choir – “One Nation: Detroit’s Tribute To The Funk”

Outstanding Urban Songwriter 
Nadir Omowale   

Outstanding Urban Vocalist 
Nadir Omowale    


Outstanding World Artist/Group
Sean Blackman’s In Transit   

Outstanding World Instrumentalist
Sean Blackman – Guitar

Outstanding World Recording 
James Simonson – “Realities”    

Outstanding World Songwriter 

Outstanding World Vocalist 
Maggie McCabe